Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Amd 1055t - how to underclock?

Tags:
Last response: in CPUs
January 1, 2011 8:14:59 PM

I have an AMD Phenom II X6 1055T and a MSI 870A-G54 AM3 mobo. I would like to try underclocking the CPU to see if it makes any difference with some issues I'm having. I have no idea how to do that, though. Anyone have any info on how to do that?

More about : amd 1055t underclock

a b à CPUs
January 1, 2011 8:17:14 PM

Might be better to discuss the actual issues you are having first, then plausible solutions....
m
l
January 1, 2011 8:39:25 PM

if you like :) 
it's discussed at some length here and i've been screwing with this for 5+ months now so I'm just desperate to try something that hasn't been tried and trying to think of how to see if the CPU is causing the problem.

executive summary:
my computer freezes up sporadically for a half second or so (previously thought it was just the audio, but I'm not basically sure that everything is also halting), but only when an ethernet cable is connected.
Have already RMA'd the motherboard and attempted a number of other things to isolate the problem. There have been a few inconclusive indications that it's external, but a greater number of inconclusive indications that it's internal.. i think.

tried with alternate ethernet card, alternate psu, outside the case, alternate power cable, alternate ethernet cables, different rooms, one different house, different sound cards, different gpu, insured that house wiring is grounded, hooked ethernet through grounded surge protector, RMA's motherboard etc

the only situation that didn't have the problem was when it was hooked up at my friend's house for a day, but I'm not convinced now because I had it seem to be working for a similar amount of time back at its normal location a few weeks later.. not sure what caused that momentary improvement.