SSD space loss--tried most simple recommendations!

wendy12x12

Honorable
Jan 15, 2013
Hi,

I'm really at my wits' end! I have a Sony laptop purchased in Sept with a 256G SSD (and a lot of bloatware), 8GRAM, Win7Pro. I have used SSD's for several years now (at least last 3 laptops). My last laptop was a Lenovo that I changed out the 128G SSD on (to 256G). It STILL has room on it (about 70G), though it has most of the same programs I'm running now (except the bloatware).

FYI: A few weeks ago, my laptop suddenly went "out". I could tell it was on, but there was no video (attached an external monitor, too). The fan kicked into HIGH HIGH gear, continuously. I figured it was the video card, but I'm not experienced enough to diagnose HW issues (or any issues, really). I sent it in for repairs under warranty--didn't get much info back, but they said "No POST" somewhere, which I kind of looked up but didn't really understand. My info was still all there when I got it back, so they must not have replaced the system board.

I don't know if the SSD space was tight prior, but I don't think so. I generally check every month or so and don't recall being concerned. I also have no idea if this could be related, but I included it!

A few days ago, I noticed I was down to about 5GB free. For work, I have to run 2 years' versions of QuickBooks Premier, Enterprise and QBPOS. I have installed two years' of each except QBPOS (only one year). I also have one year of ProSeries installed. I have all of these plus Office, Itunes, Dropbox (about 5GB) etc. on my Sony. I also have *all* of these on my old Lenovo laptop (4G RAM, Win7 Pro, the one with 70G still left).