Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in
Your question

Where does information go when it gets deleted?

Last response: in Storage
Share
January 17, 2013 10:14:57 PM

So I understand that on a hard disk, when information is deleted it gets flagged as "over-writable". But what i dont understand is where the information goes. Lest say I have a 500 GB hard disk and it if full of my OS, videos and music and then i format the disk. It then will tell me i have 500 GB of free space. So my question again is, where does all that information go? And does it work the same way on a hard disk as it does on a SSD and/or Flash drive/SD card.

More about : information deleted

January 17, 2013 11:49:11 PM

As you know, only the space used to save the deleted information is marked as "available space" for new data after the deletion or format. Therefore, the information is still saving on your hard drive. This principle works not only on a hard drive, but also a SSD, a flash drive and a SD card.
But, if you want to recover the deleted information, you should try a data recovery freeware before the original information is overwritten by new data. This freeware also works on a hard drive, a flash drive and a SD card.
I hope my answer can help you.
a c 748 G Storage
January 18, 2013 12:02:39 AM

if you did a full format, it got overwritten by zeros
if you did a quick format, the file allocation tables, the pointers to all the file pieces, were recreated so that the file system thinks that all the space is empty. All the files are really still sitting there until new files get written there.

on an SSD you cant overwrite data. To write to a block of flashram it first has to be zero'd. this is what garbage collection and trim do. They zero out the newly 'deleted' blocks so the drives performance stays near peak.
!