Sign in with
Your question

RAID configuration

Last response: in Storage
January 18, 2013 2:08:38 PM

I have a general question regarding setting up RAID on a new build. I would like to setup RAID 5 using 3x 1TB HDD's and have a 3TB HDD acting as a cache for them as well as use a 256 GB SSD for a Boot drive. I have no experience doing any of this so I am seeking guidance as well as tutorials. My next concern is the partitioning of the HDD's. Do I use GPT or MBR? Do I need a RAID controller or should I just use the software RAID 5 that is support by the MOBO and Windows 7? Finally, is this an efficient use of the hardware that I have assembled for this build?

:bounce:  :cry: 

More about : raid configuration

a b G Storage
January 18, 2013 2:13:23 PM

If you are doing this for more performance, you are going to need hardware RAID.
m
l
January 18, 2013 2:32:40 PM

Yes. I am seeking a performance boost. Do you have any suggestion in regards to which RAID controller I should purchase? I
m
l
Related resources
January 18, 2013 4:28:22 PM

I don't understand the purpose of using the 3 TB drive as a cache? Do you mean as a backup?

You didn't say what HW you are using, so it's hard to comment on what it might be good for.

I have had good experience with RAID 5 on Intel's chipset platforms (ICH7R, ICH10R), provided that the BIOS and driver software were in sync and compatible. I have had mediocre experience with RAID 5 on AMD's SB850 though that might have been due to the drives themselves. I have also had mediocre experience with RAID 5 as supported by the O/S - and am not sure you can do it with Windows 7 at all.

Intel's drivers and infrastructure make it pretty easy. With just a 2 TB array (1 TB + 1 TB), you can use either MBR or GPT at your discretion, but be aware that some software (WHS client computer backups, for example) has problems with GPT so that might be a decision factor.