Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Recently reformatted

Last response: in Systems
October 10, 2010 12:08:20 AM

This is my first time reformating my hard drive and my computer response times seem to be much slower. I.E takes forever to load, computer boot time is horrible almost 2 times as slow as before. computer is fully updated. all programs/hard ware is to the latest drivers. removed all uneeded startup. I followed the booklet (dell factory image restore) on how to clean sweep it all but im thinking there was a hidden step?

windows 7 premuim

Wd caviar blue 500gb
Cache: 16MB
Average Seek Time: 8.9ms
Average Write Time: 10.9ms
Average Latency: 4.2ms

internet is 20mbs/5mbs
420gbs free space

Yes i know this isnt a very fast Hd but it performed way better before the reformat. any ideas? btw my computer did say something bout saving windows 7 and labeled it "windows 7 old" which i later deleted. Also would a caviar black 1tb 64mb cache make that much of a difference or should i get ssd/new ones soon to come out.

More about : recently reformatted

October 10, 2010 12:42:15 AM

Honestly up until about a month ago I had a Hard-drive just like that, I never really had any issues with my PC running really slowly though because of it. I find it strange that after you reformatted you're saying that it made your system slower than before. Just so you know I usually reformat/Re-install windows on my system about once every 3-4 months and basically it has always made my system like it was brand spanking new again every single time. Also in regards to the Windows.Old folder you are talking about it's totally normal for that folder to be there after re-installing windows, and actually its also good you went and ahead and tried deleting that.