PC Not Recognizing My Card?

Cstomp

Distinguished
Aug 11, 2010
I will preface this thread with this: I understand that slimline PC's are poop... my old one broke and this was a birthday present... so no need to come in and tell me what I know.
Anyway, so today my new LP GFX card came and I was very happy.
I took it out, put on the LP brackets and popped it in the DVI input on my PC. I started it in safe mode and went to my device manager to disable my integrated gfx card from my slimline plc only to find that it was the only card listed under display adapters... I still went ahead and disabled it and tried maybe installing the drivers (this is my first time installing a card) and that didn't work.
Thinking maybe I hadn't tried hard enough I restarted and went to the integrated section of the BIOS menu only to find the option to disable the on board graphics card grey'd out (as in, I couldn't hit it)

Now I am stumped. I know the card is in properly, my DVI chord works and I have tried disabling my onboard card, my PC simply will not recognize it as far as I can tell.
Thanks for any help you can offer!

Helltech

Distinguished
IF you all had before were integrated graphics you shouldn't need to do anything in the OS in terms of disabling them.

You MAY, note MAY, have to disable them in BIOS, and/or set your PCI-e slot to be your dedicated graphics adapater.

And did you say you HAVE the card in the computer? If you have the card in the computer and you have video then you don't need to even diable onboard graphics. Just install the latest drvers for that card from ATI/AMD's website and you're good to go.

What are the specs on your power supply? The wattage and amps are what you want to know. Also, exactly what model video card did you get, can you post a link? Does the card require an additional power cable connected to it?

If it does and you didn't plug it in, or your psu isn't up to the task of handling the new card then that could be your problem.