Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Need an expert review on system

Last response: in Systems
October 10, 2010 1:56:38 PM

Hi! :hello: 

I'm new to system building, and I am planning on building my new Rig by myself.
Here is My Current PC
Intel Pentium 4 3.0 Processor
Intel D915GAV mobo
1.5Gb of DDR 400Mhz Ram
400Gb Samsung HDD
nVidia 512mb 8600GT(Inno 3D)
250W Standard issue psu
15'' ViewSonic CRT

This what I am planning to build
Intel Core i5 760
Intel DP55WB mobo
6GB DDR3 1333Mhz Ram
640Gb Seagate HDD
nVidia GTX 460 1GB(EVGA)
InWin Fanqua Casing + Commander 750W psu.
18.5'' Samsung LCD

I used my First System for more than 4 years, had no issues(Hardware) with it, even managed to play Modern Warfare 2 on it!! :) 
Here are my Questions,
Will this new Rig, have any hardware issues like performance drops or bottlenecks??
Are there any improvements that I should make before I continue?

More about : expert review system

a c 103 B Homebuilt system
a c 142 å Intel
October 10, 2010 3:27:13 PM

I suggest a P55 board from ASUS, MSI or Gigabyte instead of the Intel for good overclocking support.
A quality PSU from Antec, Corsair, Seasonic or XFX instead of the selected one. 450 - 500watts is enough for a single GPU and 650 for a SLI setup if that is in the plans down the road.
m
l

Best solution

a b B Homebuilt system
October 10, 2010 3:40:49 PM

I'm not sure how much that PSU costs, but I'd suggest going for an OCZ ModXStream or StealthXStream 600w instead. They're both relatively cheap for what they are, but the Commander isn't available on NewEgg, so I don't have much to compare them to. My OCZ ModXStream 600 is rock solid, and hasn't had a single problem since I installed it.

I agree with rolli, go with an MSI or ASUS board instead of Intel. I know getting a board from the same person who makes the processor may sound good, but it will end up hurting you in the long run.