Sign in with
Your question

What Tools do i need to build and repair a pc

Last response: in Systems
October 10, 2010 10:05:51 PM

I am currently studying comp A+ and afterwards if i pass i would like to offer computer repairs in my local area.

I have just bought a practice pc and know I need to buy the tools to help me fix it.

I was thinking I would need the following to start. If you could let me know what else you think i need that would be great.

Screwdriver + pliers tool kit
Anti static strap and mat
Wireless dongle
Usb drive.

Thanks for the help.

More about : tools build repair

October 10, 2010 10:12:56 PM

I think you have the basics covered at least. A soldering iron etc. may also come in handy for repairs. You can't replace thorough knowledge and experience. Good luck :) 
October 10, 2010 10:30:13 PM

Spare parts to help in troubleshooting such as a monitor, power supply, video card, ..., etc.
Related resources
October 10, 2010 10:39:26 PM

A screwdriver and a brain can get you a long ways. As said above, spare parts can be incredibly helpful in finding whats wrong, if you test with a known good power supply and it suddenly works you've found the problem.

You might want to have a couple of CDs with diagnostic software loaded on them, like Memtest
October 10, 2010 10:41:39 PM

I do this for a living (8 years)

You'll almost never need pliers. Buy yourself several screwdrivers, some tiny for laptops and some normal size for desktops. Get a smartphone that can browse the web - that will be indispensable when the PC you are working on can't. Buy a rack of RAM - that solves most of the speed problems people will hire you for. Buy USB hard drive caddies - one each for 2.5 and 3.5 inch HDs, one each for SATA and PATA. That's 4 total. Buy hard drives by the half dozen - don't bother getting big ones, just 160 or 250 GB of SATA and 80-120 of PATA which can stay at home for bigger problem where you need to replace a hard drive.