Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Unknown Problem with PC

Tags:
Last response: in CPUs
January 7, 2011 10:56:48 AM

greetings!

i have been trying to figure out what the problem is with my pc but after going through tonnes of
forums and hours of brainstorming i still cant figure out what the issue is. though i suspect it has
something to do with the motherboard.
i own an old system, athlon xp 64 2400, 2+2gb corsair gaming ram, MSI KA790GX mobo, ATI HD5750
graphic card, windows 7 64bit. i have been using the system for more than 6 months, and recently
something happened. over a weekend i shut down the pc and went outstation, and when i got back,
turned it on..it was up and running for a few minutes and then it froze. it wouldnt restart after that
and over 2 weeks i tried to figure out what the problem was. i can get it working now, but it freezes
up randomly.sometimes it freezes when i boot the system. sometimes it freezes when i'm using the OS.
the funny thing is, it doesnt freeze up when i run a game or watch a video. it freezes up when its idle.
i've tried dismantling everything on the motherboard and fixing it back. nothing seems to be working.
everytime i turn on the pc after leaving it off for a day, my cmos seems to have reseted itself. i tried replacing
the cmos battery but the problem still persists. it would boot up go past POST, if i am lucky, windows boots
up. it randomly freezes sometimes when windows is loading, sometimes at POST, sometimes in the OS
itself. i have run out of ideas and i really dont know what to do. someone please help me figure out this
issue. thank you. and happy new year!!

More about : unknown problem

Best solution

a b à CPUs
January 7, 2011 11:06:30 AM