Sign in with
Your question

Up-grade over-kill

Last response: in Systems
October 13, 2010 5:23:49 AM

Hello,
I am trying to build my 1st system and I am very new at it. It will be used for personal video processing and editing (no gaming). I will also be converting DVD's and VHS to Blue Ray. I'll also be watching TV on my HD monitor. I am planning to use the following configuration;
Intel C2Q CPU Q9550
ASUS P5Q3 MoBo
EVGA GeForce 9800GTX+
video card
WD1001FALS Hard Drive XCLIOWindtunnel full
size ATX case
HauppaugeWinTV HVR
1850 TV tuner
Windows7 Home Prem.
64 bit O.S.

More about : grade kill

a b B Homebuilt system
October 13, 2010 6:05:41 AM

Looks nice, but didn't mention ram. Only reason I mention it is for your purposes I would get 4 gigs.
Looks like you'll need a nice bluray burner. I would also get a blu ray reader as well. Get a good cache on both.

Why did you choose the XClio? It looks cheap, loud, and enormous. Most reviews I looked at said those gargantuan fans fail quickly and are expensive to replace. I think you can get a better deal at that price. I can't see why you';d need a full tower, maybe I'm mossing something..
m
l
a b B Homebuilt system
October 13, 2010 6:33:59 AM

I'll just warn you, I had a bad experience with the P5Q3; installed it on a system I built a year or two ago, and after a couple weeks, the Ethernet just stopped working for no apparent reason. After trying all manner of fixes, I called ASUS tech support, and they told me the error code I was getting indicated a plain old hardware failure, adding "off the record" that this seemed to be an ongoing problem with that particular board.

So, I would be wary of that -- and also, since I don't think they even make that board anymore, I would be doubly wary of buying what must be a used motherboard. That and the PSU are the only components I really never like to buy used; too many problems can come up if you get them secondhand.