Sign in with
Your question

First Time Build - Suggestions $1000

Last response: in Systems
October 14, 2010 4:30:23 AM

Okay, I've done about 2 weeks of researching and think I have a good idea of what I want. I included a screenshot of my newegg wishlist. If anyone could take a look at it and see if I can get more bang for my buck somewhere.

Here is what I plan on buying. If it means anything I'll be buying about one piece a week, I can't afford to get everything all at once, it is my first project.

http://i272.photobucket.com/albums/jj178/szarach/wishlist.png

A few questions:

1) Is this power supply good enough to handle this?
2) Should I buy an aftermarket heatsink?
3) Is there anything I'm missing other then an OS?
October 14, 2010 4:37:53 AM

The power supply is fine, 500W is generally the entry zone amount for a decent single card. Your going to need two SATA cables, one for HDD, and one for DVD drive, your motherboard might come with some, check. AS for the heatsink, it's always a good idea to think about going after market with those, the boxed one is generally decent but if you want better performance and cooler readings i'd do some research on a separate one.

Also I'm guessing you have a monitor?
m
l
October 14, 2010 4:49:49 AM

Yeah I have a monitor and speakers.

m
l
Related resources
October 14, 2010 4:52:09 AM

From what i see your options aren't bad, it should let you play most games at high settings, did you look into combo deals? Also may i ask what games you are building for?

Ahh i didn't notice it was a budget PSU, yeah follow the recommendations on that below.
m
l
a b ) Power supply
October 14, 2010 4:52:14 AM

Actually, I am wondering why you chose that PSU. Its a cheapo unit. It may be rated at 600W, but that doesn't mean it will actually supply that much power and it certainly doesn't mean this will be clean, solid power. Don't skimp on your PSU, you will regret it.
Look at quality models from Antec, Corsair, PCp&C, Enermax.