Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Why is my PC not showing improvement after SSD upgrade?

Last response: in Systems
October 14, 2010 11:10:12 AM

Hi All, I just got a new PSU, Case, and an OCZ 60g Vertex 2 SSD and I am not seeing a noticable performance increase here. I ran the Windows Experience test, and my CPU is now scoring 3.2; it was 5.4 the last time I ran it (several months ago when Win 7 just came out. Also, boot times don't appear to be much faster than before.

I am wondering if my Mobo is just too old (maybe it has a slower verision of SATA on it?). When I went to my BIOS, I didn't even see an option to enable AHCI, maybe I overlooked it though. This is my first time using SATA, before I had all IDE stuff.

Here is my build:

CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 Conroe

Motherboard: MSI P6N SLI Platinum

Memory: Kingston ValueRAM 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400)

SSD: OCZ Vertex 2

Graphics Card: MSI N9600GT-MD 512

Power Supply: Antec 750

Hard Drive: WD Caviar Blue 500GB 7200 RPM
Anonymous
a b B Homebuilt system
October 14, 2010 11:47:56 AM

yo must instal your os in the ssd
m
l
October 14, 2010 12:37:49 PM

Quote:
yo must instal your os in the ssd

Yeah man, I did. LOL. That would be funny though if I didn't.
m
l
Related resources
a b B Homebuilt system
October 14, 2010 12:52:53 PM

1. an SSD will never slow down your proc. It must have been something else that causes the lower score.

2. What kind of improvement do you expect? higher fps by games? higher RAM, Proc, and/or GPU benchmark? The you are wrong. SSD doesn't have such impact on system performance.

3. No AHCI options? Perhaps, your mobos BIOS is ancient and needs to be updated. I have never used this mobo before, so I am not sure of this. SSD must have this AHCI option turned on.
m
l
October 14, 2010 1:36:08 PM

guanyu210379 said:
1. an SSD will never slow down your proc. It must have been something else that causes the lower score.

Yeah, maybe it is just failing.