USB 3.0 I/O Plug in fries mobos aand CPUs???

mxgasdvr

Distinguished
Sep 7, 2011
Greetings all:

Although kindness is appreciated as I am VERY new and only did my first custom build June of 2011, it is not in any way, required. Thus, should anyone feel the need, please flame away. I may learn something.

I selected the XL ATX Gigabyte G.1 and made the horrible mistake of purchasing the Xigamtek Elysium case. After the first install it simply cannot take the weight. The damn thing warps and bends and the drive cages suck. However, I deal with Microcenter henceforth “MC” and since I work in the software industry, I get excellent pricing. Unfortunately, MC carried only one XL mobo and one XL case.

Net-net: The mobo is fried and the CPU which was an i7 960 I acquired for $139 is also fried.

1. The first call I received blamed insertion of the front I/O USB 3.0 Plug. For those familiar with this mobo, there 2 of these blue plug-ins on board and I screwed up, since I only noticed after the fact, the first one had bent pins out of the box. With 4 USB 3.0 in the back, two I wired to the front of the case, combined with the mobo bracket which contained two more USB 3.0, an OC button and a direct SATA plug-in all under the top Sata Dock, I think I had more than enough USB 3.0 I/O’s. BTW, Is it only me, or does anyone else find these docks useless given the frail nature of drive cable plug-ins? Just curious.

2. I ended up using the second on board plug-in and it worked fine, with one exception. It would not stay plugged in.