Home network questions!

Mikeislo

Distinguished
May 23, 2001
Hi everyone!!!

Here's my situation. I'll be moving to a new house (not build yet) in about a year and my wish is to have a home network (Fast Ethernet) so I'm going to run all the cables and everything now not when it's all finished. I have two computers about 100 meters (330 ft) apart (2 floors) and a notebook. Win 2k Pro on all.

My question is what exactly do I need for a Fast Ethernet connection. I'm REALLY A NOVICE in this field so be as precise as possible. Cables CAT5?, cards (which ones – manufacturer exact type) and everything else (don't know what), hub maybe – do I need it?!?! I’m also thinking about having an ADSL connection what kind of card do I need for that (a different one?) I plan to share the ADSL on both computers.
I don’t know if I made any sense but any help would be appreciated :)

G

Since you're in a building stage, I wouldn't worry about what kind of harware is on the PC side... focus on setting up a good network topology (it'll make things a lot easier in the end).

I assume you'll want things done in a 'home-run' type network (star topology... every end coming to one point in the house). Determine where you want that home run to end up in and that will be your network closet/room (this is where you'll put your Hubs/Switches/Routers/Patch Panels/etc). Remember, you'll need power in your network closet. Also have a phone line run into the closet/room.