Fitting GTX460 into my case - help!

Status
Not open for further replies.

MacbookNo

Distinguished
Aug 29, 2010
I'm trying to fit my new GTX 460 into my case but there is a connector in the way. Looks like the blue cable is going from the CD/DVD drive to a slot on the motherboard labeled "SATA2_2." My new card can't get into it's slot because this the cable is in the way.

There are other blue connectors out of the way titled "SATA2_5" - can I just move the blue connector that's in the way over to those ones?

I'm not too technically saavy so sorry if this is a dumb question. Here are some pics, thanks for the help:

P1030542.jpg

P1030540.jpg

P1030536.jpg

MacbookNo

Distinguished
Aug 29, 2010
I didn't have enough 6-pin connectors from the PSU to hookup the video card so I stole one from the CD drive. Do I need to get a new power supply with more connectors or can I get some sort of splitter cable?

Take a shot of the PSU; The rating label is on the side, that way we can se what it is, it may not be suitable for the GTX460s' power demands.
I take it the PSU has one 6 pin PCI-E cable and that you have used one of the adaptors that came with the card? If so you might be OK, but we'll need to see the PSU rating label to be sure.

jrhii

Distinguished
May 8, 2010
you'll probably need another PSU, depending. I assume you mean you used a molex (those old 4 pin connector) to PCI-E 6 min adaptor.

How many MOLEX connectors do you have and what are you using them for? Also, what PSU do you have?

EDIT: sorry on reposting what had essentially just been posted. It wasn't up when I wrote the message.

MacbookNo

Distinguished
Aug 29, 2010
I threw all cation to the wind and tried out the video card and ran starcraft 2 on ultra as a test. It looked great, but of course, I want to make sure my comptuer doesn't blow up and having the CD drive would be nice!

Here's the PSU:

P1030543.jpg

You need another PSU- Urgently.