Sign in with
Your question
Solved

[Asus] F1A75-M no access to BIOS, but boots fine

Last response: in Motherboards
September 9, 2011 12:11:15 PM

Hello,

I'm trying to go into the BIOS to enable Crossfire, because I have the A8-3850 and just bought an XFX 6670 to bump my graphics.

For some reason, when I hammer Delete on boot, I get a black screen with a text enter prompt. But I can't enter anything and it hangs there. The exact same thing happens when I tried to update the BIOS by selecting the boot order with F8.

I've cleared the CMOS and still to no avail. Anybody got any ideas? I'm pretty stumped.

Thanks,
Mike.
September 9, 2011 12:38:33 PM

I'm a noob in this aspect. Can I use that through the CMD prompt? For some reason I thought I had to put it on a bootable drive, and boot to it.

If I'm wrong in this aspect, I will be extremely happy, humbled; but mostly I'll just feel dumb...

I have contacted ASUS though, and they are giving me basic troubleshooting B.S.
Unplug everything, try with certain things plugged in. It boots fine, I don't think it's components messing with the BIOS.
m
l
Related resources

Best solution

a b V Motherboard
September 9, 2011 12:50:41 PM

you do need to use a bootable disk for the dos utility. ive never tried it in a dos windows but ive read a few times to not do that.
ive found a few oddities that have caused this problem.
first - i found a post about a guy who had the exact same problem as you and he fixed it by unpluging his hdmi cable and using another type. guess the uefi had trouble with the hdmi.
second was a bad uefi image. good enough to boot from but not to access. there are a lot of cases of this half get fixed from bios update half dont. have to rma at that point.
September 9, 2011 12:54:54 PM

poopyTo said:
Hello,

I'm trying to go into the BIOS to enable Crossfire, because I have the A8-3850 and just bought an XFX 6670 to bump my graphics.