Best processor for Virtualization?

chuckhriczko

Distinguished
Jan 10, 2011
I am a mobile apps developer and its useful to run a virtual machine. Is it safe to assume that a six core processor and 8gb RAM can make two vms and the host run at near full speed?

silversurfernhs

Distinguished
Feb 5, 2009
"near full speed" is the catch - as long as you match settings to what your cpu is capable of and regard the lack of 3d support (for the most part)
i've had the best performance with virtualbox, but i like the wdm 3d driver that vmware provides for full aero support in vista and 7.

iether way my 7.8/7.9 wei rig will get about 6.6-7.1 when running the host (windows 7 64) and two or three vms:
windows 7, windows XP and a linux distro

allowing each os about 2gb and 1 or 2 processors each

this is all running the rig in my sig

chuckhriczko

Distinguished
Jan 10, 2011
Ok. I was just looking at pricing and it appears six core won't happen. So between an older core 2 duo with faster clock speed or a newer I5 dual core with lower clock speed what would be bettBetween the winner of that one and an older core 2 quad?

silversurfernhs

Distinguished
Feb 5, 2009
i'd say go with the quad as long as it supports vt - it made a big impact on processing performance, which i assume would be important if your constantly compiling and running. theres more processing power in this solution and you can spit up your proc amongst the vms they way you want to instead of sharing full time with the host.

mavroxur

Distinguished
It all depends on how many VM's you plan on running on the host server. If you're running just one VM on a host machine, a quad core host machine would be more than enough, with at least 4gb RAM. Of course this all varies depending on what your VM will be (OS) and what it will be doing. If your apps will be single threaded, i'd actually recommend fewer, faster cores.

chuckhriczko

Distinguished
Jan 10, 2011