Sign in with
Your question

Virus has made win7 unusable.

Last response: in Windows 7
November 13, 2011 12:55:29 PM

So here is my issue. Was given a laptop recently, Pavilion g4, it has win7 home premium 64. I have a virus that has made it so I cannot make backup restore discs, system restore or anything.

I was told to reformat my harddrive and fresh install win7 on there and that would correct the issue. But, no copy of win7 is in my possession.

Is there any way to repair this problem? Hp charges $ and as a student I cannot afford this right now.

a b 8 Security
a b $ Windows 7
November 13, 2011 1:03:29 PM

Eclipse56 said:
So here is my issue. Was given a laptop recently, Pavilion g4, it has win7 home premium 64. I have a virus that has made it so I cannot make backup restore discs, system restore or anything.

I was told to reformat my harddrive and fresh install win7 on there and that would correct the issue. But, no copy of win7 is in my possession.

Is there any way to repair this problem? Hp charges $ and as a student I cannot afford this right now.

Can you get into safemode ? If you can, choose (with networking) to give you internet capability. Run your antivirus scan. Download Malwarebytes free scanner and run that also. If infections detected & removed, see if it will boot normally and repeat all scans you did in safe mode. Hope this helps.
m
l
November 13, 2011 1:06:27 PM

cannot get into safe mode or anything. I had a fellow student look at it, and he said it looks like there is no OS at all now.
m
l
Related resources
a b 8 Security
a b $ Windows 7
November 13, 2011 1:27:09 PM

Eclipse56 said:
cannot get into safe mode or anything. I had a fellow student look at it, and he said it looks like there is no OS at all now.

You are obviously on a working computer, you could download and burn a Rescue CD and boot from that to get things started. The OS may be inoperable, but I doubt it is gone.