Your question
Solved

What graphics card to I need?

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
Anonymous
a b U Graphics card
August 31, 2010 2:46:23 AM

Hello,
I have a system running AMD Phenom II X4 Quad Core 945 with 8GB DDR2 RAM, and a 1TB 7200rpm HDD. However, it only has Integrated ATI Radeon HD 3100 onboard graphics with DVI. I currently have it connected to a Dell 22" LCD monitor at 1920x1080 and extended to my 42" Panasonic plasma TV at 1280x720. Some video (especially when the camera moves) is not smooth (like Hulu for instance). It improves but is not perfect if I bring my Dell monitor down to 1280x720. Both operate at 60Hz refresh rate.

Do I need a new graphics card to improve performance? Would that fix my problem? If so, what card do you recommend with enough performance without overkill? Thanks, I'm an amateur at this.

More about : graphics card

a b U Graphics card
August 31, 2010 2:53:07 AM

I haven't had this problem, However I'd say it wouldn't hurt to upgrade your graphics card. If you can supply your motherboard, power supply, case, price range and location information we can go about finding a solution.

Also, What games do you play/want to play. This should help us finding the best graphics solution for you.
m
l
Anonymous
a b U Graphics card
August 31, 2010 3:00:08 AM

The power supply is an ATX 12V 300W. The system is a ZT Systems Affinity 7337Xa. I'm not sure about the motherboard information but maybe you know a way to find that out from the model number? I could find the information online. It's what I call a regular tower desktop case (not sure what it is technically called). I'm hoping for something less than $100, a card that is sufficient without going overboard. I'm in the Chattanooga, TN area.

I don't really play games much, except Civilization IV. The most I use my graphics card is my dual monitor setup (one monitor and one plasma TV) as a part home office PC and part HTPC.

Thanks for your help.
m
l
Related resources

Best solution