Status
Not open for further replies.
This is a thread for those who wish to post their opinion about how these two cards may perform against each other and higher tier cards such as the GTX 460. I am in the market for a single card for my 21st birthday and am a student so budget is a must. My current machine employs two 9800gt 1gb editions however the machine is highly cpu bound and doesn't scale well compared to my Intel 780i build. So they will be going back into that machine while I move over into a single gpu environment. I would do crossfire and have the bridges already on hand but cpu bound.

Current specs

8250e (B2 stepping) oc 2.6ghz (274 base)
6gb soon to be 8gb next week

Antec Neo HE550w Overvolted 12v rails 12.27v at this time.

Ga-Ma790x-DS4 (w/sli hack via os)

6 Hard drives total no optical

I do not intend on upgrading my cpu at this time as I am a student thus cheap.

From what I have been able to find is that it is G106 and is 192 shaders on a 128bit GDDR5. So the $130 has my interest wanting a easy Nvidia card. The G108 is closer to GT240/9800gt/9600gt performance. I hope that I am not disappointed once it comes out just after my birthday. I am not fond of the $150-200 price tag that the 5770 carries while a few do sink below that but I look at before rebate costs including shipping.

GF106 is printed right on the chip in those pics.
Those numbers are interesting. That the HD5770 rapes it in Crysis even with a hefty OC is bit disconcerting.

I feel its a little early to read too much into one set of figures but its encouraging from the competition side of things. I also think that if this was an ATI launch someone would have posted"yea but wait for the driver increases" by now ;) I guess Nvidia cards benefit from driver improvements also so there should be better to come.
Price point will be interesting, if they can bring this to market under cutting the 5770 then it should be a popular card.

Mactronix :)