New Builder Needs help

Matt214

Distinguished
Sep 13, 2011
Hello,

I recently put together a computer for the first time and I am running into some error messages. I'm using the Crosshair V Formula Mobo and an AMD 1100T Black Edition CPU. Im getting two errors:

CPU Fan Error!
The Current CPU cant use ASUS core unlocker!

I searched for these errors and found some solutions. However, my real problem seems to be that when I go into my UEFI and change the settings to fix these errors, when the computer reboots, they remain unchanged. Ive tried resetting the CMOS both manually and with the button on the Mobo. I also have flashed the mobo with the latest version.

What am I doing wrong? Am I missing something? Like i said this is my first time building a computer so go easy on me with all the technical terms :??:

On the fan error, on that board there are 2 connectors next to each other labled CPU Fan. Make sure it is plugged into the one closer to the backpanel connections.

The second issue might (I actually don't know, just a guess) be related to the fan error. Where it shuts down any kind of processes that would create high temps while it does not have a working fan.

Matt214

Distinguished
Sep 13, 2011
The Fan I have is plugged into CPU_FAN and CPU_OPT. They are both 4 pin connectors. (dunno if thats relevant). When I flashed the BIOS the CPU Fan Error went away for one reboot and the other error remained. After another reboot the fan error came back :(

Matt214

Distinguished
Sep 13, 2011
I plugged both the heatsink fans into the y connector and then into CPU_FAN as you suggested and the CPU Fan Error went away!! TYVM!