Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Hyper 212+ +HAF922+AM3 socket question Need help!

Last response: in Systems
October 21, 2010 2:33:21 AM

hey all im looking to get a hyper 212+ HSF and install it into my haf922 case on my asus mfa89gt 890gx mobo which currently has a phenom ii x4 965be in it with the stock hsf....

my question is does anyone with a haf 922 have any experience changing the HSF? the back panel looks like its semi accessible to the backplate but not fully (the bottom 2 screws i can see but not fully exposed) would i be able to change the HSF w/o taking my mobo outa the case?

I have never done this before so would like to avoid taking my mobo out if i dont have to.....

any tips are welcomed....and if a diff HSF is better let me know tho ive heard this is the best for the price...
October 21, 2010 12:13:36 PM

Hello, I did a search and found this:

"One thing about the hole on the mobo tray so you dont have to remove the mobo to install HSF, that isnt true. You really do unless your mobo happens to hit perfectly over the hole and has a small plate."

Then other people said that their motherboard fitted perfectly over the hole. So I guess your out of luck...

Why are you scared of taking the motherboard out? Did you build the PC? If so its just like building it but in reverse :p .

That is a very good cooler, its a nice choice.

[EDIT]
Source:
http://www.techpowerup.com/92771/Cooler-Master-Introduc...
m
l
October 21, 2010 12:31:29 PM

na im a computer building newb....i had the guys at tiger direct build it....

i wanted to slowly learn how to build it myself (i just replaced the PSU myself)

also it looks like i MAY have to move the RAM to diff slots....is that an issue? currently its in slots 1/3 but i heard the hyper 212 fan might put it in the way so would moving the ram to 2/3 or 2/4 make a diff? and if so do i gotta do nething in the bios after moving it (like i said im a newb)
m
l
Related resources
October 21, 2010 12:39:26 PM