Sign in with
Your question

Graphic card suggestion

Last response: in Systems
October 21, 2010 2:17:07 PM

Hello there,
I am up to some upgrades in my pc, I just bought my corsair 850TXPSU and now I need some advice about graphic cards.
I am a photographer so I use Photoshop a lot, not only for editing but also for manipulation. I give you this info because I don’t know what chipset shall I choose. Nvidia vs ATI. I have an old EAH2900XT and a cheap brand Palit 9500GT 1 gig ddr2 as an alternative.. I also play video games like dragon age, mass effect, MMO's (wow, conan, any new ones may follow), some fps, strategy..

My current built is.
Motherboard: GA-P45-DS3p, Intel Q9400 2.66, 4gigs of Kingston 1066 ddr2 ram. My mobo is crossfire certified but that’s not an issue for me, as my next upgrade will be in mobo, processor and ddr3 ram. (not yet - next year).

After a small research I found myself considering the middle range graphic cards. GTX460 or HD5850-6850.
The above models have totally the same price.

nVidia GeForce GTX 460 OC 1GB DDR5 PCI-E Dual DVI Mini-HDMI (Gigabyte)

Gainward GeForce® GTX 460 2GB "GS" (golden sample) 190-200 euro

Gigabyte 5850 GV-R585D5-1GD-B SVGA (PCI-Express)

Asus 5850 DIRECTCU/2DIS/1GD5 (PCI-Express, GDDR5, 1GB) a bit more expensive

Also there is the new 6xxx series that cost the same price as the other cards.. 6850 (180 euro) and 6870 (240 euro)
Any advice? I like the gainward (I don’t have any experience with this brand) because it gives 2gigs of ddr5 and If I consider in the main feature a second one.. it will be a killing.. with 4 gigs of ddr5
a b U Graphics card
October 22, 2010 11:18:21 AM

^ If gaming along with Photoshop mainly, then the HD 6850 would be a good option...Consumes less power and is as powerful as the GTX 460...And even though the Gainward offers 2GB, I doubt that chip would be able to utilize it fully...
October 22, 2010 11:32:16 AM