To Kill Lag While playing WoW

demetrius202

Distinguished
Jan 15, 2011
this gets long so this thread isnt for the faint of heart

I'm a newb when it comes to computers and such and have been reading what I can, but here's the deal. Been playing WoW off and on since 12/04 and since I've come back to cata and liked it so much I've decided I'm tired of the periods of lag which mostly happen in 5-mans and pvp, basically when the game gets fun and requires fast reflexes and I dont need to run in place for 5-10 secs and wipe/get owned.

I've updated all my drivers, software... still lagging w/ a drop in FPS

I turned down all the visuals to suckiness... still periods of lagging (as above)

Started reading different tech forums, cleared computer of temp files, etc. and my computer sped up some but... when playing WoW, still periods of lagging

Then I started slowly upgrading my computer:

Dell Inspiron 530
CPU: Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 2.4 GHz
3 GB RAM
ATI Radeon HD 3600 Series
Windows Vista OS 32-bit

Decided that it was my GPU being outdated causing my lag and bought a Radeon HD 6850 graphics card.

While it was working (and not causing my screen to go black which only happened when I played WoW) my lag was a little better but still there--instead of lagging for 5-10 secs it was 4-8 secs (/cry)
This graphics card required a better power supply so I bought an Thermaltake TR2 600W PSU. Since my card caused the BSOD (black screen of death) during WoW, I now have the following:

Dell Inspiron 530
CPU: Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 2.4 GHz
PSU: Thermaltake TR2 600W
GPU: ATI Radeon HD 3600 Series
3 GB RAM
Windows Vista OS 32-bit

My question is this: how do I destory Wow lag? Specifically, what is holding me back? Is it my
1. CPU: what's a good speed to get good performance and consistent FPS/no lag? I've seen people happy with > 3 GHz. Should I overclock mine to > 3 GHz then?
2. RAM: buy more? Overclock?