Sign in with
Your question
Solved

What should i add, HDD or SSD

Last response: in Storage
January 30, 2013 10:13:12 AM

Hello all :hello: 
I want to upgrade my pc storage. Now i'm using 500GB Seagate HDD and became very very full now, i just had 40 GB free space :(  . But, i'm a programmer too, i often use Eclipse and Visual Studio to write an app and my HDD gave me hard time with both of those software :( . Start time for those software feels like 1-2 minutes. Beside that i must compile and save everytime while coding and everytime i compile or saving it took very long time, like 5-7 seconds. I'm very very sure what made eclipse and visual studio very unresponsive are my HDD because the rest of my spec is just fine. Now i'm stuck with two option, if i choose SSD (max capacity i can afford with my budget is 120GB) my file already full and i can't buy another drive in near time.. If i choose HDD of course i must deal with the low performance. Can you give me your opinion? Or did someone ever face similar situation like this and took better option? Thanks in advance :) 

My spec
cpu : i5 3470
memory : gskill ddr3 1600 8GB cl 9
motherboard : asrock z77 pro3

More about : add hdd ssd

January 30, 2013 10:25:25 AM

I would go with an HDD in your case.

Waiting for programs to load is an inconvenience.

Running out of storage space is a problem.
m
l
January 30, 2013 10:28:48 AM

i agree. just get the fastest HDD you can afford. perhaps you can get one significantly faster than the one you have that also has enough space to last you a long time. keep in mind though that you should backup. if a drive dies it would suck to set you back weeks on your work.
m
l
Related resources
January 30, 2013 10:29:19 AM

If you want raw speed and less space go for the SSD.

But if you want to store alot of data a HDD is the better option.
m
l
January 30, 2013 10:31:46 AM

Z1NONLY said:
I would go with an HDD in your case.

Waiting for programs to load is an inconvenience.