Sign in with
Your question

Seeking advice in choosing an HD 5850, options listed.

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
September 3, 2010 5:10:38 PM

So I've pretty much decided on a 5850 for my $1000 amd gaming build - problem is there are 17 versions so I am seeking some recommendations...

I'm currently looking at the GIGABYTE GV-R585OC-1GD Radeon HD 5850 (Cypress Pro) 1GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.1 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFireX Support Video Card w/ ATI Eyefinity
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

Here is are the search results for the 17 different variations of this card:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/ProductList.aspx?Submit=P...

I'm going to be using it solo at first and eventually add another for Crossfire.
September 3, 2010 5:52:59 PM

Ok so i'm a custom PC noob spending lots of time on research for my new build. Can I get a quick rundown on overclocking these cards - some of them are 'already overclocked' to a degree? i'm guessing you can try and push any of em further?
m
l
Related resources
September 3, 2010 6:07:48 PM

Quote:
Buy xfx 5850 black edition they are factory overclocked and kickass performer.

Yes... the most expensive one.

Also this seems like a dumb question, but I've heard that b/c of the size of these cards they take up 2 slots - so if I'm looking at a mobo with 2 pciE slots will there not be enough room for 2 cards running crossfire?

like this mobo for ex.

ASRock 870 EXTREME3 AM3 AMD 870 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard

good choice?
m
l
September 3, 2010 6:08:44 PM

Quote:

Also this seems like a dumb question, but I've heard that b/c of the size of these cards they take up 2 slots - so if I'm looking at a mobo with 2 pciE slots will there not be enough room for 2 cards running crossfire?

like this mobo for ex.

good choice?
m
l
a b U Graphics card
September 3, 2010 6:14:31 PM

I would say the Vapor-X version or the Toxic version from Sapphire. Toxic is overclocked and Vapor-X has a better cooler.
m
l