flight-simulator-build

zeroscape150

Distinguished
Oct 21, 2010

Hi Emperus, I have been running Flight Simulator since 1995. I have always preferred an AMD processor and associated motherboard for every computer build; always improving my computer setups to play the next FS verison. Presently using from 2004 an Athlon XP 2600+ , 2 GBs DDR3 ram and ATI X-800 video card. FSX plays fairly well except for FPS rates do come down near landings. The scenery is sparce and traffic slider is about 50%. I need some advice for a new build in the range of $1300.
I have been to many Internet sites getting opinions from many people and as you said, FSX crunches through cores.
According to what I've read, Intel's latest i7s with Crossfire X setups don't solve the problem, that's why I threw out the question on your site. By the way, thanks for a prompt response.

The AMD people put out many choices as you already know

AMD Phenom™II X4 955, 965 Black Edition Quad-Core CPU w/ HyperTransport
AMD Phenom II x 6 1055T, 1075T, 1090T

I don't need a smoking computer just one that plays FSX with a option for an upgrade if FS 11 is ever developed.
I would appreciate your opinion. Thanks again for your time and effort.

For your budget, the AMD camp can offer you a six core CPU which will be great, both for FSX and your overall computing tasks.. Pair it up with a decent video card (like a 5850) and 4 gigs of DDR3 RAM and you'll be done and happy for quite a few years and hopefully atleast another couple of FS releases..

zeroscape150

Distinguished
Oct 21, 2010
Emperus, that's the most positive response I've received yet from a knowledgeable person. One of my options is to let Cyberpower build my next computer with these parts:

AMD Phenom II x 6 1055T CPU
Gigabyte 870 USB3 +Sata III Motherboard
4GB DDR3/ 1600 mhz Memory
1TB SATA III 7200rpm HHD
Fans and Liquid Cooler Upgrade
24x DVD +- R/+- RW Drive
Apevia- Cruiser 2 case
800 Watt Extreme gear power supply, etc, etc