Sign in with
Your question
Solved

$1300 strict gaming pc.

Last response: in Systems
October 24, 2010 2:12:01 AM

Hi everyone, I've never built a computer before, but have heard that it can save a lot of money, and that you can assure the quality of the components! I do have a few friends who are more computer inclined that would be able to look over my final build and help assemble it. Forgive me if I ask a lot of questions along the way, but I'd like to learn and understand the process as I go along, for my own edification and for future uses as well :D 

Approximate purchase date
My goal is to purchase all the components within a week or two. There is no hard deadline.

Budget range
$1300, after all costs are considered (taxes, shipping to NY, rebates, etc.)

System usage
ONLY gaming, nothing else. I have a laptop for work, and don't need to do any sort of heavy programming, video editing, etc.

Parts not required
- Mouse (Logitech M305 wireless mouse)
- Monitor (ASUS MS238H Glossy Black 23" 2ms Ring stand & Ergo-fit LED backlight LCD Monitor Slim Design 250 cd/m2 10,000,000 :1 (ASCR))
- Speakers (Dell™ AY410 Multimedia Speaker System)

Preferred websites for parts
Either Newegg or Amazon. I have Amazon Prime so I have free 2-day shipping for most items, but the Newegg parts seem to be priced cheaper.

Brand Preference for parts
None, really, since I don't know that much about computer building. This is where your guys' expertise will come in handy ;) 

Overclocking, Crossfire, Future upgrades
None whatsoever. I will be using everything at stock speeds and don't plan on any sort of future upgrades at all. I'm pretty busy and won't have time to fool around with this stuff. I'm already wasting more time than I should by writing this post and building my own computer, but hey, if I can save a little $$ and make a better and longer lasting computer, it's worth it!

Monitor Resolution
The Asus monitor I will be using has a native 1920x1080 resolution.

CPU - $294.99