What to do in my situation...i7 2600/2600k and H67/P67

calbear4

Distinguished
Oct 27, 2010
Hi, I've read the existing posts, but I'm still unsure of what to do.

I know I want an i7, so it's between 2600 and 2600k. I will not be overclocking for sure.

So here's the situation: Currently, I don't play games...so I may not need a discrete graphics card. That said...does that mean I should pick 2600K since it has the better built-in graphics? However, I want to still keep possibility that I use one discrete card in the future if I do start playing games/intensive photoshop/video work. But I will never have to SLI/Crossfire, so that means I should get non-K?

Also, I will never overclock, so I don't need K, so if i want to utilize the onboard graphics, I should use the motherboard H67? But I want it to still activate the "Turbo" so does the H67 allow that? And if i use the H67, can I still use a discrete graphics card later?

flong

Distinguished
Dec 27, 2010
I am not a computer expert but I have read a lot of the sandy bridge reviews. The built-in graphics on the 2600 is very weak. The 2600K as I understand it requires a separate graphics card. Having had the I-7 920 with a cheap graphics card and then moving up to the ATI 5850, I can tell you that there is a world of difference in graphics performance with a separate mid to high-end graphics card compared to a low-end solution like the 2600. I would not even consider the 2600 weak built-in graphics. HD video, games, photoshop, CAD work and HDTV (if you watch TV on your computer) all require a powerful graphics card to process the high bandwidth signals. In my admittedly limited experience there is no comparison. The difference is night and day.