New Computer Problems

georgeVII

Distinguished
Sep 20, 2011
Hi my name is George

After searching around the internet for a solution to my problem I have come up with nothing. Throughout my search this community seemed the most knowledgeable so it is to you that I come with my pleas for help.

I recently built a new computer from scratch (first time doing this). I spent lots of time on it following all the instructions and making sure that all my parts are compatible with each other. All of the parts are brand new except for the two hard drives which were from my old computer.

One hard drive had windows xp 32bit installed and the other was just a storage drive with music, movies, etc. on it. As I am a student in Canada I got a deal from Microsoft and got a new copy of windows 7 pro which I downloaded (I downloaded the .exe version) and burnt it onto a disc. My plan was to start up the computer with windows xp and then put the disc in to upgrade to win 7. What I forgot was that my new processor was a 64bit processor and thus when I turned it on it would flash an image which looked like the cover of the box my motherboard came in and then would show the traditional win xp starting up screen (win logo with progress bar below it) and then it would restart and repeat until manually shut it off.

Realizing my error I downloaded the ISO version of win 7 pro to make a boot disc. A back up disc is coming in the mail but I do not have that yet. Also since I wanted to save some stuff from my old hard drive I bought a sata to usb adapter and used that to take the stuff i wanted off my original boot drive onto my gf's laptop and then transfer it from her laptop to my other storage drive using the same adapter. I then formatted the original boot drive so it was empty.