High Performance Gaming Rig

xavienkenny

Distinguished
Jan 20, 2011
Hello dear forumers, this is my first time posting in tomshardware. Recently, I'm looking forward to build a new high performance gaming rig and I have been doing a lot of research on my own. However, I'm a bit unsure about the specs of the pc that I'm building.

This is the specs that I was planning to build.

motherboard - gigabyte x58A-UD7
processor - intel i7- 950 3.06 ghz
graphic - HIS 6970 2GB DDR5
RAM - TR3X6G1600C8D Corsair 6GB (3x2GB) 1600mhz DDr3 Dominator DHX 8-8-8-24
hard disk - System Storage (OS) wd raptor 150G
hard disk - secondary (storage) - wd caviar green 2TB
Bluray combo - LG / pioneer
chasis - GIGABYTE' SUMO 5112 BLACK FULL TOWER CASE
power supply - Unsure

I was building the specs according to some pricelist provided by the local computer shops in Melbourne. Then i found out that, the stuff they were selling were outdated after reading about i7 Intel 2600K, and most of the review comes with +ve feedbacks. More than that, the new SSD has also been proven better than WD Raptor (i am judging by reading most comment from the forums, do excuse me if I am wrong).

I would like to seek some professional opinions to build a new specs for my rig. Even the thread title proposed that i'm seeking for High performance Gaming Rig, i would most probably be using it for High end gaming (Crysis/crysis 2, etc) and programming (i'm a junior web developer and designer). I'm looking forward to install Windows 7 64 bits which im looking forward to have 6 to 8GB RAM.

My budget is below AUD3000 which include a 24 inch LED Monitor. I have not look into what kind of monitor to purchase. I am completely outdated with computer hardware. Any help will be appreciated, thanks in advance.

Cheers~

Solution

12GB kit? Not for dual-channel like Sandy Bridge. Just get one 8GB kit and one 4GB kit.

And yes...