atroposz

Distinguished
Oct 8, 2010
Hey there,

Im a beginner putting my first rig together with a lot of help from friends. One thing I did myself (after scouring these forums and basic bare bones models offered on websites) was pick the components. However, a friend of mine is now saying he thinks I need a heat sink. I read a couple articles about them, and it seemed like the underlying theme was they were running *much* more powerful builds that I have any intention of running, and with the things I have, the various case/hard drive/psu/graphics cards inherent fans should be sufficient. So, my question is, anyone mind glancing over my parts and giving some input? Thanks a bunch!

(I havent bought anything but a monitor and graphics card yet (6850 - Im so glad someone one in these forums mentioned I might want to wait a week til they dropped!) so anything can be changed if necessary.) Oh! And one more question. The PSU I picked out is not modular, but it was the one that was recommended several times when I asked for suggestion. Ive got fairly small hands but the friend who will be helping me assemble it doesnt. Anyone have a clue on if Im going to need a bigger case? The descriptions list the Challenger as "roomy" but Im feeling a little OCD about everything being 'perfect' the first time)

Rosewill CHALLENGER Black Gaming ATX Mid Tower Computer Case

ASRock 870 EXTREME3 AM3 AMD 870 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard

XIGMATEK ACXTNRP-PC402 400W ATX12V Ver.2.3 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified Active PFC Power Supply

AMD Phenom II X4 955 Black Edition Deneb 3.2GHz Socket AM3 125W Quad-Core Processor HDZ955FBGMBOX

CORSAIR DOMINATOR 6GB (3 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Triple Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model

SAMSUNG Spinpoint F3 HD502HJ 500GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive

ASUS DRW-24B1ST/BLK/B/AS Black SATA 24X DVD Burner