SOLVED: Mobo won't post/beep - splash screen shows artifacts

sns26

Distinguished
Sep 21, 2011
Hi all:

My new and newly-built system won't beep or POST. It displays weird graphical artifacts on the bottom third of the splash screen (scrolling colorful vertical lines), then hangs, then restarts itself in an endless loop. Is this a sign of a dead motherboard?

Here's the system:
Gigabyte GA-H67N-USB3-B3 rev 1.0, F4 BIOS
G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1066 (PC3 8500)
Intel Core i3 2125 (I am using the integrated graphics)
Crucial SSD
Lite-on SATA DVD
APEX MI-008 Mini-ITX case with 250w PSU

It took a fair bit of force to get the CPU installed, but I gather that is pretty normal for socket 1155. I have tried installing just one stick of memory in each of the two memory slots with no luck. Should I just return the mobo for a replacement?

sns26

Distinguished
Sep 21, 2011
I'm a bit of a noob--by IGU do you mean the integrated graphics on the mobo chipset? Is that what displays the splash screen? If not, then couldn't this be a problem with the 2125 CPU (which itself has integrated graphics)? And could I test this by plugging in a separate graphics card?

no problem.

The IGU is the integrated Graphics Unit. Which is a chip that uses processor time, as well as memory from the RAM to act as a graphics card. it is not only going to display the splash screen, but anything at all that comes up on your monitor. Since it won't even display the splash screen properly, this rules out driver issues, and since it is an IGU instead of a dedicated GPU (Graphics processing unit) it rules out a lot of troubleshooting steps.

If you have an extra GPU laying around, I would absolutely suggest dropping that onto the board and seeing what happens. Although, most people with dedicated GPU's don't use the IGU since the dedicated card is by far more powerful.

I know GIGABYTE has a GA-H61N-USB3 (rev. 1.0) but not the model that you've specified.