Sign in with
Your question

PSU comparison - opinions wanted

Last response: in Components
January 21, 2011 5:22:37 PM

Newbie calling! Posting from my second build, but my first was only about a week earlier.

The old power supply I had in the case initially has failed, so I replaced it with the first decent one I could get my hands on quickly. Or at least I thought it was decent. It was recommended by a possibly somewhat unreliable salesman at a local shop, and since he'd been the one to verify my old PSU as kaput - I was only 99% sure, it could've been the mobo itself based on my observations and I had no PSU tester or multimeter - I felt like I owed it to him to buy something.

Anyway, what I ended up with was an old Antec SP500P, which I've since had the opportunity to research and seen described in a couple of places as "the worst power supply ever made" and similar words to that effect.

So, bearing in mind that I'm an unemployed student with zero cash to spare who intends to add a graphics card to this rig, I figure buying a better PSU is a better bet than hoping my current one doesn't bugger my entire system. I've been recently looking at the Silverstone Strider ST50F-ES, but have some possibly misguided concern about the two 6-pins being on the one cable. I've also seen the Seasonic S12II-520 recommended, but that's really quite expensive based on a budget of £0.00.

I've had a look at the big PSU guide on the forums, and that was what led me eventually to the Silverstone (I had been looking at the Antec EarthWatts and the former was suggested to be slightly better by HardwareSecrets).

Note also that I've not installed any case cooling save for the PSU fan and CPU stock cooler, but my running temps seem decent enough so far. I've not gone near any OCing yet, though I am considering trying this with my CPU since it's pretty slow. Some examples from Speccy in °C:

CPU: 27
Mobo: 35
HDD1: 45
HDD2: 47

Any views, people?