Sign in with
Your question
Solved

PC build advice

Last response: in Storage
February 5, 2013 7:51:02 PM

Hi...I'm a noob when it comes to PC building, so I've purchased an old (2005) Compaq Presario SR1300AN with an ASUS A7V8X-LA motherboard. I'm just planning to tinker with it (add an AGP graphics card, wireless card etc) and get some experience. It currently has a 40gb, 5400 rpm IDE hard drive which I'd like to replace with a Western Digital Caviar 3.5" hard drive SE EIDE 7200RPM 8MB (320gb). My question is: will this mobo/machine accept this drive? Will the BIOS be modern enough to deal with this drive?

Many thanks in advance for an advice you guys can offer. :) 

More about : build advice

a c 317 G Storage
February 5, 2013 10:57:54 PM

You can use a 320Gb drive, but IIRC that board is only SATA I so you may need to jumper the drive to work on SATA I if it is a SATA II drive, some needed that and some didn't. Take a look at the WD site for details on that particular drive.
m
l
February 5, 2013 11:07:46 PM

RealBeast said:
You can use a 320Gb drive, but IIRC that board is only SATA I so you may need to jumper the drive to work on SATA I if it is a SATA II drive, some needed that and some didn't. Take a look at the WD site for details on that particular drive.

Pardon my ignorance RealBeast, but what is jumper(ing?)?
m
l
Related resources

Best solution

a c 317 G Storage
February 5, 2013 11:14:45 PM

Not an issue of ignorance, I'm just old so we used to use jumpers a lot. :) 

To run many hard drives as SATA I drives you may need to slip a small two pin jumper to short two pins on the group of small pins on the back of the drive where the IDE and power connectors are -- there will be around 10 pins and you need to look at the drive literature to determine the correct pins, but HERE is the general idea.
February 5, 2013 11:18:41 PM

RealBeast said: