Power Failures, SSDs and BBUs

The Replicant

Honorable
Feb 5, 2013
Hey all,

Thank you for the resource you all provide.

I have recently had a few power failures at home and my Win 7 desktop has suffered some hiccups. The main hard drive is a Crucial M4 128Gb SSD. The operating system and a few other programs are installed on that disk.

After the power failures the computer will not recognize the SSD boot drive and as a result fails to load windows 7. The standard white lettered message about not detecting a boot drive comes up after Bios loads. Bios also fails to detect the SSD. Luckily for me, after a few, but sometimes many many attempts, the SSD will be detected and the computer will boot as usual.
However, I am very anxious that next time a power failure occurs, the system will fail to recognize the SSD in perpetuity.

In my research so far I have read about something called a Battery Backup Unit. I have no experience with these units and wonder if they will prevent this failure of detection from occurring after a power failure.

What exactly is causing my SSD to hiccup after power failures? Why is the SSD detected after a few reboots sometimes? How can I prevent this from happening at all? Is a BBU a good option?

leonfeldman89

Honorable
Jan 29, 2013

Corruption/loss of meta data(the FTL) causes almost all SSD failures, it's not specifically a result of the power loss but actaully the result of the inability of the SSD to properly manage meta data durring the wear leveling process. When you've got relatively small physical wear on an ssd, recovering to a bootable state is possible because every time the drive is initialized the FTL data is moved. Basically you're very lucky you have a crucial(micron built) ssd that can recover from this state and not a buggy Sandforce Driven POS.

steave_01

Honorable
Nov 15, 2012