Sign in with
Your question
Solved

I5 2500k / i7 2600k - future proof

Last response: in CPUs
January 22, 2011 7:02:03 PM

Almost all set to build new system based on ASUS p8p67 pro. I am a professional photographer. Large image files, (large for me is 800mb - 1.2 gb), a lot of large format printing for clients. Photoshop and Lightroom. Will be getting into some video now with the great video capabilities of modern 35mm digital cameras.

Was set on i5 2500k. Now not so sure. Going to make a purchase decision in the next few hours. Bundle deal at MC is $360 for the p8p67 pro / i5 2500k and $460 for the p8p67 pro / i7 2600k.

Waiting for the gtx 560 before I make a decision on GPU.

Benchmarks in Photoshop and Lightroom show no real advantage in the i7 2600k vs. the i5 2500k. Don't know if this equality holds up if one is multi-tasking other operations while, say, batch processing in Lightroom. Don't know enough about the video to know the advantages of one over the other.

Should I go ahead and put the extra $100 into the i7 2600k, or put that money towards GPU?

Right now there doesn't seem to be a huge advantage of the i7 2600k over the i5 2500k. Wonder if the i7 2600k might show a more distinct advantage a couple of years from now, so maybe it is more future proof?

Thanks

Best solution

January 22, 2011 7:06:31 PM

It might. I went with the 2600k just to be sure. I don't think you can go wrong either way.
My thinking was the basic difference between the two is hyperthreading. If my E8400 had hyperthreading...would I be uprading now or later? The answer is later.
a c 850 à CPUs
January 22, 2011 7:07:20 PM

I think they will age the same. In a couple of years you would probably wish for a hexacore or more.
m
l
Related resources
January 22, 2011 7:12:38 PM

rolli59 said:
I think they will age the same. In a couple of years you would probably wish for a hexacore or more.