Need help upgrading my motherboard with the right things

Dirr T

Distinguished
Sep 22, 2011
I have a pretty nice pc that was really good for the buck over a few years back. At this link you will see the motherboard I have and would like to upgrade it.

Motherboard
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813127015

CPU
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819115005

my friends did all the work and overclocking.

I believe I have either a 500 or 600 watt power supply too

I built a computer with my friends a long time ago but now I actually want to learn about the insides of the computer. I know a little already, but atm I would like to know if it says standard ram supported DDR2, then I can only use that for the system memory? correct? and can I go lower with the 65 nm technology if i wanted to upgrade the CPU? I know I'm a noob, but I was wondering what I can do to this motherboard. Any information would be greatly appreciated. I do know how to install heatsinks as I have taken xbox 360s apart and have applied thermal paste and repaired old xboxes that had problems. would I use the same arctic silver 5 paste to upgrade the CPU on my motherboard? Thanks again for reading this and I'm truely going to start getting into building computers and I need to start somewhere so any help would be much appreciated. thanks

David 617

Distinguished
Apr 12, 2011
if the mobo only supports ddr2 then yah, it cant take ddr3. but if the speed is ddr2-600 you can put in faster ddr2 memory, it will just run at 600mhz speed. (same holds true if you want to put in lower speed.)

the cpu depends on the socket that ur mobo has. ex 775, 1366, 1156 ect.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/CPU_socket
u can replace a cpu with another of the same socket. (provided that u can deal with the power and heat.)

if you want to upgrade, give a budget and what you use the pc for

Dirr T

Distinguished
Sep 22, 2011