Could you help one more Newbie with his Build?

Lacoste

Distinguished
Oct 28, 2010
Hi everybody,

This is my first post, and I would appreciate some help in checking the configuration of the system I'm planning to give me myself as a present for christmas. I have been browsing this site and some others, and done the basic investigation reading some articles and reviews, so I hope my desired system parts will match well between each other, but feel free to make any comment regarding quality, performance, alternatives...

I'm in my last year in Computer Science, so usually I need to use some Virtual machines in my system (currently a nice macbook pro) which usually use plenty of resources, and besides that I have been doing some music with Cubase/Ableton Live/Reson and Fruity Loops since some years, so it would be nice to have a machine able to keep with that hobby too with an able machine. Of course, I would like to mention that I'm an avid gamer, and after being playing only on consoles the last six years, would like to try these new PC-only games with a powerful configuration. My monitor is a 27'' 1080full hd, but I could upgrade in one year.

As my first build ever, I don't plan to overclock immediately, but this is definitely something that I would like to do in the future to extend the usability of the system. Also, I'm looking for a certain grade of scalability, I mean, adding one HDs more later, and possibly a second graphic card in the future, just to keep the pace of newer games. Money is a concern, but my limit is 2500$, so I think I an assemble an awesome machine.

So, here it is:

167399 Intel Core i7 950 BOX, 3.06 GHz, LGA 136... 1 315.-

I think this gives today good bang for the buck, and cannot really justify the 980 i7

198597 Asus Sabertooth X58, LGA1366, SLI, CFX, ... 1 222.-

It seems a good product, based on some reviews. Is it really better the Asus P6X58D-E, which costs just a bit more?