Sign in with
Your question

$1200 gaming PC

Last response: in Systems
October 29, 2010 11:21:54 PM

Hey guys

Thanks for the help. Any input would be appreciated.

Approximate Purchase Date:1-2 Months

Budget Range: 1100-1200

System Usage from Most to Least Important: gaming,surfing the internet, watching movies
Parts Not Required: Monitor, Mouse, keyboard, Windows 7, Office
Preferred Website(s) for Parts: newegg, zipzoomfly

Country of Origin: USA
Parts Preferences: by brand or type: None
Overclocking: No
SLI or Crossfire: Yes
Monitor Resolution: 1920x1080

Additional Comments: I am a complete noob when it comes to pc and am looking to replace a 5 year old computer. I have been looking at Intel I7 brand cpu but am not married to anything. just want to see what you guys recommend so I dont have to go the dreaded pre fab market.

More about : 1200 gaming

October 29, 2010 11:41:27 PM

You would definitely be served best by an i5-760 build over an i7-based system.
m
l
October 30, 2010 3:57:40 AM
Related resources
October 30, 2010 4:54:58 AM

I am also looking for advice on my budget build. This pretty much my final version, unless somebody discovers some glaring compatibility problem that I missed.

Case: Antec Nine Hundred Two Black Steel ATX Mid Tower ($110)

CPU: AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8GHz ($200)

Motherboard: ASUS M4A89GTD PRO/USB3 AMD 890GX ATX AMD ($140)

GPU: Sapphire 100314SR Radeon HD 6870 1GB ($240)

SSD: OCZ Vertex 2 OCZSSD2-2VTXE60G 2.5" 60GB SATA II ($140)

HDD: Samsung Spinpoint F3 HD103SJ 1TB 7200 RPM 32 MB Cache ($70)

Memory: Crucial Ballistix 4GB (2x2GB) SDRAM DDR3 1600MHz ($90)

PSU: Corsair CMPSU-650TX 650W ATX 12V ($90)

Cooler/Heatsink: Cooler Master Hyper 212 120mm sleeve CPU cooler ($30)

DVD/Blu Ray Drive: LG WH10LS30K 10X Blu-ray Burner ($100)

Total cost: $1210

Hope this helps.