Need help with figuring out SSD Caching.

cahassler1

Honorable
Jan 13, 2013
Hey guys, I have a few questions about SSD caching on my system. I just built my own system a few days ago, and I wasn’t thinking before I started it up and installed the OS to a WD 1GB HDD. I also just installed a bunch of programs, and a few games on there as well. My question follows: Is there a way to install my 64GB SSD drive right now, and just use it for caching of my HDD? Or do I have to uninstall everything, and reset my motherboard to a raid format or ACHI or something? I am fairly new to the whole SSD caching thing, and have been doing some research about it.

From what I have seen it is worth the little bit of extra effort to do this. Also would I have to stall the OS onto the SSD as well for it to operate as a caching device for my main 1GB HDD? Lastly I’ve seen people on here talking about just installing the OS to the SSD and then using their HDD for everything else such as games would a 64GB SSD even be big enough to do this? Is this the same concept as caching a SSD to a HDD or something totally different? I do not really want to have to uninstall the OS if I can help it as I just installed it 2 days ago, and I think that would be a lot of work. Anyways any advice anyone can give me, and steps on how to actually do any of that would be greatly appreciated. I’ve looked all over and have seen conflicting reports on how good SSD caching is compared to actually having my OS on my SSD. Which one do you think is better? My MOBO is a Z77 Pro model so it can handle the caching as well.

SSD caching is good for programs that are used often, but has a limited space and will slowly eject data that has not been accessed in a while if you change your usage pattern.

You can get windows and maybe a few smaller games onto a smaller ssd, just have to try not to overfill the SSD as it can cause performance issues.