Sign in with
Your question
Closed

Computer not Booting - Graphics Card Issue?

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
September 10, 2010 5:19:06 PM

Hey all, I have a custom built computer and for some reason am having trouble booting up my computer. My computer will boot and load all the way to the Windows loading screen and then just go black and restart itself.

Here is what I have inside.

- MSI Diamond P45 Motherboard
- Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 Processor (Frequency 2.83GHz, FSB: 1333Hz, Transistor: 45nm)
- XFX 260 GTX graphics card (1)
- 4gb of Corsair DDR3 Dual Channel Ram (4096MB PC10600 DDR3)
- BFG 800 watt PSU
- Seagate 7200 RPM 500GB Harddrive (1) (Main HDD - Has Operating SysT)
- Western Digital 5400 RPM 2TB Harddrive (1) (This is run as an external)

Also, I have read various other threads on this site, but, this is my first time actually posting.

If you need, my computer and CPU normally run anywhere from 30 degrees C on idle and as high as 40 or 45 degrees C on "multitasking", which is where I play Starcraft II, download torrents and listen to WinAmp.

I have run a TON of tests from Hirens bootcd, which include but are not limited to HDD test on both HDD's, Memtest, BootFIX, rull computer disgnostic and a few others, BUT, all tests have come back JUST FINE!.

What do I do next?

oh and FYI - I thought it was my PSU (as read in other posts), but, I bought a new PSU from Micro Center and it still didn't work

a b U Graphics card
September 10, 2010 5:44:07 PM

have you tried a different OS to see if it also happens?

try reseating the cmos by taking out the mobo battery for about 30 minutes then put it back in
Score
September 10, 2010 6:09:46 PM

I have no tried a different OS, I cannot boot my computer currently. I just realized i did not mention that I am using Windows XP 32bit
Score
Related resources

Best solution

a b U Graphics card
September 10, 2010 7:07:32 PM

It maybe a video card driver problem. Does it boot OK into safe mode?