Whatcha think of my micro? (and other Q's)

Pinger

Distinguished
Oct 25, 2010
Ok I posted last week seeking places to start with a micro build since my last build lasted me 7 years and I have been away from the latest and greatest that the industry has to offer in a long time. I tend to do things against the norm, but with reason. I will try and lay that out. I also need some feedback on HDMI monitor resolutions as I am new to that game as well. That question will be at the bottom. Thanks all and as always I REALLY appreciate all of your feedback and constructive criticism.

I was pushing for a 1k build, and I just barely broke it. Here it is:

1. ASRock 880GMH/USB3 AM3 AMD 880G USB 3.0 HDMI Micro ATX AMD Motherboard
2. AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition Deneb 3.4GHz Socket AM3 125W Quad-Core Processor
3. SAPPHIRE 100314SR Radeon HD 6870 1GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.1 x16
4. G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600
5. CORSAIR HX Series CMPSU-750HX 750W ATX12V 2.3 / EPS12V 2.91 Modular Silver certified
6. OCZ Agility 2 OCZSSD3-2AGT90G 3.5" 90GB SATA II MLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)
7. ZALMAN CNPS9700 LED 110mm 2 Ball CPU Cooler
8. SAMSUNG Black Blu-ray Drive SATA Model SH-B123L
9. APEVIA X-QPACK2-BK/500 Black Aluminum Body/ Front Mask MicroATX Computer Case

Ok here's my reasoning/justification

1. I had never heard of ASRock, but they have some real high rated stuff with fewer MAJOR hardware oversights as evident in their online ratings. The only real issue that I have seen has been boards that were DOA (as with EVERY manufacturer). This board does not support SATAIII, but hey, none of my hardware uses it... so w/e

2. I like AMD, I have stock in AMD, I buy AMD. I like the underdog and will always lean that way in David vs Goliath