RAID Card Recomendation - Raid 5, 8 SATA drives

Sarlic

Honorable
Jan 24, 2013
Hi everyone:

I'm fairly new to the RAID scene and I'm looking for a recommendation for a good RAID controller card.

I'm looking to build a RAID 5 of 8, 2TB SATA drives. My understanding -- admittedly limited, although I've been reading and trying to get clear answers -- is that I can get a RAID Controller card with 2 SAS ports and get cables that allow me to connect up to 4 SATA drives to a single SAS port. Is that accurate? (I have 8 6gb/s SATA drives.)

I'm running an ASUS P8Z77-V PRO, Core i5 with Windows Home Server 2011, attempting to build a media server. I bought the P8Z77 with the expectation that I could build an 8-drive array using the onboard RAID controllers, but apparently 2 of the ports won't allow for it.

At present, I'm building a Raid 5 just via Server Manager, but reaction to software RAIDs appear to be overwhelmingly negative.

Can someone please take pity on a n00b and throw a recommendation my way that would fit the above-mentioned build? I'm willing to spend up to $400.

Many thanks,

Steve

migit128

Distinguished
Sep 6, 2009
Don't think you'd get that great of a card for 400 dollars.
When I built my first raid I was told that raid 5 with 8 2tb drives isnt the best idea. You can only lose 1 drive at a time and if it fails during the rebuild you're screwed. I personally went with a raid 6 which is very similar to raid 5, but you can lose two drives instead of 1 and still recover. The cost is 2tb of storage. You'd end up with 12tb of space instead of 14tb.

If you really want a solid raid you may need to up your budget. Mine cost me about 600 dollars plus a 100 dollar backup battery...then came the hard drives... -_-

Your description of the SAS to 4 sata cables cable is correct.

Sarlic

Honorable
Jan 24, 2013
Thanks for your response, migit.