DTS-HD??? Why it won't work?

cheesewiz6

Distinguished
Dec 27, 2009
Ok a little about me. I install home theaters for a living and have a passion for building computers. So I know the ins and outs of DTS-HD. I just can't get it to work from my htpc. The reason why it matters is because I want to sell my blu-ray player.

Ok the home theater is a Onkyo HTS-6200 it's not incredable but on a $500 budget it can't be beat. It will decode DTS-HD. I know so it works with my blu-ray player.

Computer hardware on the brand new system. 95 watt Quad core phenom with 6 megs l3 cash clocked at 2.8 don't have model. 8 gigs of ddr 3. Gigabit micro atx am3 board with sata 6 gb and usb 3.0 there is only one out there with these specs. I have 2 sata 2x250 gb barracudas set up as raid 0. Have a asus blu-ray drive. The new fanless zotac nvidia gt 430 with hdmi it supports dts-hd.

The software is the powerdvd 10 mark 2 or what ever, it passes dts-hd. I have downloaded the newest nvidia drives with the HD audio driver version 266.xx. I have the powerdvd and audio settings in windows set to output sound undecoded so my receiver can do it's thing. All I get id dts. Can anyone shed some light?

I have tried 2 movies one was the new Resadent Evil. The other was Easy A both have DTS-HD and I set it up in the blu-ray menu.

cheesewiz6

Distinguished
Dec 27, 2009
I have the nvidia gt 430 it has it's own audio codecs built into the video card for DTS-HD master audio so I don't need a sound card it just goes through the hdmi port. In the driver options I can select DTS and I get DTS but no option for DTS HD I have the newest driver 266.xx and It is supposed to allow my card to have the DTS-HD option. The driver pack has nvidia hd audio driver 1.1.13.1 if I remember.

If I recall correctly, the 500 series can bitstream Dolby True HD or DTS HD...I don't recall if this also applies to the 400 series or not.