Sign in with
Your question

Newbie attemting first build...have all components...need help

Last response: in Systems
November 1, 2010 2:00:29 PM

hello all,

i just got all of my components in today and am going to try to assemble this rig! (i feel im in over my head)....but gonna try to accomplish this today. this is my first build, so please consider i will be asking really "noobish" questions, as i want to make sure i am thorough and dont mess anything up.

im hoping to get some assistance from you experts here at toms throughout the day when i get "stuck".

first of all, here are the components i purchased.

amd 955 be
asrock 870 extreme 3
mushkin blackline pc3-10666 ram (4 gb)
antec 902 case
sparkle computer gold class 1000w psu
sapphire 6870 x 2
samsung spinpoint 1 tb harddrive
liteon optical

i am currently trying to assemble the motherboard with cpu, cpu heatsink, ram. i already have mounted the cpu onto the motherboard successfully.

my first "stuck" of the day is regarding mounting my cpu heatsink.

i do not know if there is already thermal paste applied? how to tell?
November 1, 2010 2:48:57 PM

I can't say exactly, but since you didn't list a CPU cooler, I assume you are using the stock one that came with the processor. Since I've never used one of those AMD's in anything I've built, I don't know if it comes in a little tube or pre-applied.

Does the contact side of the fan assembly that comes in contact with the processor have clear plastic pull off with gray substance on the flat part? If it does, then the thermal compound is pre-applied. If not, then there should be a little tube of it inside the box the processor or fan came with.
m
l
November 1, 2010 5:17:09 PM

hello again.

i am not installing the motherboard into the antec 902 case.

the asrock 870 motherboard has 5 total sata ports...

does it matter which i use on any of the devices i will be connecting?