Sign in with
Your question

New MB/Old Processor/New Fan/Old Sata Drives = Smoke?

Tags:
Last response: in CPUs
January 27, 2011 12:58:17 AM

Hello,

I helped a friend and now I own this darn issue I ran into with a migration and need extra brains please.

New MB with old processor and old ram with new CPU fan and new PSU. Sata HDD and Sata DVD drives. New Case.

Connected everything, Tested power to just CPU and fan = good

Added RAM tested = Good
Added Video Card/HDD and DVD Drives = Good

Good = Green MB light then with video card = post of BIOS

held off on booting, went into bios and watched CPU temp for 15 mins = 102 degrees, that cant be good right? I used arctic silver compund and I am a semi seasoned pc builder.

Booted into Windows and as soon as Windows wanted to fix itself I heard a small pop and smoke from one of the HDDs or so I think because I didnt catch it at the exact moment but it came from the area where the drives are.

Its a drive migrated from an old system so not sure if its dead or if I connected it wrong.

By wrong I mean maybe daisy chaining sata drives (2) isnt good? The chord on the PSU can take 4 sata connections and I only connected 2 drives total.

1) Whats up with the pop and smoke from the HDD? I have never ran into that before? Voltage? Bad HDD? Both?

2) Is 100 degrees F normal when the CPU isnt doing anything? (Its a $20 fan and this is a friends build so Im thinking $20 fan = $20 performance

3) Is the MB temp sitting @ 104F normal when idle

4) The Asus PCie card is HUGE and it runs really hot on the board but I cant get a temp reading on the card... it just feels hot (hot air, case open..hotter than I would think I would feel coming from a card)

FML

Any thoughts other than at the next boot its going to blow up on me?

Im thinking:

Remove the Vid Card and use the onboard video

replace the possible faulty drive

deal the the whole $20 fan issue contributing to the heat topic

air freshener for the smoke? :) 

Help?