Updating Gigabyte bios

fr0st4lyfe

Distinguished
Jan 4, 2011
This is my first time updating bios, or thinking about it.
I currently use a GA-p55-usb3 motherboard.
I bought a SSD which acts really funny with my motherboard. I took me a while to install windows on the ssd and i finally got it to work for a little bit. When ever I do anything with the SSD my computer blue screens of death. than my bios wont be able to read the ssd anymore. So I want to update my bios to see if it will fix this problem but I am not sure on the best way to do so safely.

Could someone please help me find a quick and easy way to update my Gigabyte p55-usb3

My computer specs"
GA-p55-usb3
8gigs of corsair ram
i-5 760
windows 7 64bit

P.S. if there is a way I can fix my ssd problems help would greatly be appreciated if it is not my BIOS causing this problem.

Solution
It's unlikely a mobo BIOS upgrade will resolve your SSD issues unless Gigabyte states this in the BIOS update on their website for your mobo model. If your Gigabyte mobo is fairly new they offer two types of BIOS flashing which are listed in your users manual and also on the Gigabyte website. Typically one version works from the Boot screen and the other from Windows.

Before you do a mobo BIOS upgrade you might want to check your SSD Firmware and see if there is an update for it as all of the SSD vendors have had some form of issues with many models of SSDs. The SSD forums for your model/brand of SSD may also have a solution for your issues?

beenthere

Distinguished
It's unlikely a mobo BIOS upgrade will resolve your SSD issues unless Gigabyte states this in the BIOS update on their website for your mobo model. If your Gigabyte mobo is fairly new they offer two types of BIOS flashing which are listed in your users manual and also on the Gigabyte website. Typically one version works from the Boot screen and the other from Windows.