Status
Not open for further replies.

reccy

Distinguished
Jun 6, 2007
Hi Guys,

Just bought my 2nd GTX 470, very impressed with the level of performance increase this in sli provides. Given the GTX 470 isnt that bad of a card solo by all accounts.

Just a little bit concerned about the temperature of the first card, it now seems to be hitting the 87°c mark. a quick google search actually provides no information, one suggests it limits at 80, then another says 100, conflicting situations.

I have got to down to 80°c now by putting a small fan directly ontop of the GPU and a fan at the back of the GPU's sucking the hot air out quicker. It has gone to 80°c once, but averages around the 77 mark. (also have a fan on the side of the case blowing cold air onto the GPU/inside the case)

I dont want to swap GPU coolers or anything of the sort as this voids warranties, and im not that good at modifing.

I played Assassin's Creed II for like 5/6 hours without a stutter, hitch, glip anything which would suggest no over heating issues or anything.

Just wanting some peace of mind :)

Guys For the help, much appreciated! :)

Solution
Even though those temperature are on the higher side, they are quite normal for the GTX 470.I've never come across a GTX 470 which died due to heat problems.You can add some side fans if you case allows you to do so.

decode

Distinguished
Jun 6, 2009
Also, If your overclocking them I suggest you use MSI Afterburner, and then customize your fan settings so that if it starts to become too hot(95 or so) it bumps the fan up to 80 or 100 percent to combat the heat.

First time I actually ever used a GPU overclocker the otherday, MSI afterburner was simple to use and overclock my card(9800GT LPE, bumped it up to original 9800GT stock speeds)

reccy

Distinguished
Jun 6, 2007