Sign in with
Your question
Solved

HELP no motherboard drivers!!

Last response: in Motherboards
September 29, 2011 3:07:54 AM

I need to install drivers on my new Asus motherboard but can't use the disk it came with because I would have to use command prompt to activate it and I'm not too good with CL. I've already uninstalled all the old motherboard drivers from the HD (BTW my HD doesn't show up in my BIOS either). So my question is how do I install all the motherboard drivers from support disk and why isn't my HD being detected by my BIOS?

More about : motherboard drivers

September 29, 2011 3:15:57 AM

Oh I should probably mention this is the very first time I am building a computer from the ground up.
m
l
a c 111 V Motherboard
September 30, 2011 1:25:25 AM

Let's start with your HDD problem. If you're using a SATA HDD, try switching SATA ports. If you're using an IDE HDD, you may have to change a few settings in the BIOS, like IDE Legacy.

Next, install Windows (hopefully you've got Windows 7). Once the OS is installed, you can then pop in your motherboard disc, but I would only install the audio and network drivers. Anything else, you should get the latest versions from the manufacturer's website.
m
l
Related resources
September 30, 2011 1:54:27 AM

I've already tried switching SATA ports and making different settings in the BIOS like having the IDE option enabled and making sure auto detection was on. I have Windows Vista installed on the HDD and I'm using a retail boot disk I bought off of Ebay to try and start it but nothing comes up. I fear this is because my motherboard still does not detect the HDD.
m
l
a c 111 V Motherboard
September 30, 2011 7:01:12 PM

Have you tried using a different SATA power and/or SATA data cable?
m
l
September 30, 2011 10:45:03 PM

Yes I have tried different SATA power connector and cables, is there any device I can use to be sure my HD is still working such as a multimeter?
m
l
a c 111 V Motherboard
October 1, 2011 1:35:32 AM